We’re now in our fourth year sponsoring the Telstra ARIA Music Teacher Award, and we’re thrilled to continue supporting Australia’s incredible music teachers as they lead, inspire and educate our nation’s kids. We need your help to find this year’s crop of awesome music teachers.

This year, perhaps more than any other, we’re reminded how fundamentally important our nation’s teachers are to us all. Throughout the year Australia’s music teachers infuse their passion for music with patience and genuine care for their students. And more recently they have had to adapt and embrace technology to continue their work.

This special ARIA Award, launched in partnership with The Song Room in 2017, rewards teachers for their hard work, creativity and dedication to their students and the wider community. By celebrating our amazing music teachers, it also helps to shine a light on the importance of music in building a growth mindset, self-esteem and student engagement.

ARIA Awards 2019 - Portrait Winners

Every year, ARIA asks the Australian public to nominate outstanding music teachers. They receive submissions from all parts of the country, and it is heartwarming to see the influence and positivity they bring to their communities under a variety of circumstances and constraints. What remains consistent amongst the teachers is their belief in the power of music education to enrich the lives of their students.

With this in mind, we want to recognise music teachers who have gone above and beyond to educate kids and help them develop in 2020.

The award has been won in previous years by Antonio Chiappetta (2019, St Andrews College, Sydney, NSW), Scott Maxwell (2018, Grant High School, Mount Gambier, SA) and Renee McCarthy (2017, Woodcroft College, Adelaide SA).

Entries are now open and a shortlist of four finalists will be announced at the ARIA Season Launch in October. Each shortlisted ARIA finalist will be partnered with a renowned Australian musician who will visit their school or music tuition program and help tell all of Australia about their work and the positive impact on their students.

Previous ambassadors for the Telstra ARIA Music Teacher Award include Conrad Sewell, Emma Wiggle, Guy Sebastian, Jessica Mauboy, Josh Pyke, Justine Clarke, Katie Noonan, Lior, Missy Higgins, Montaigne, Sheppard, and Thelma Plum.

Antonio and Conrad Sewell

A public and music industry voting process will then be conducted culminating in the announcement of the winner at the 2020 ARIA Awards in November.

If you know an inspiring music teacher nominate them now and help celebrate the exceptional influence they have on our kids as they develop a lifelong appreciation for the joy of music.

Entries close June 8, 2020. For more information, visit ARIA Music Teacher Award.