I’d like to congratulate Tammy Barton, founder and director of MyBudget, who last night was named the 2017 Telstra South Australian Business Woman of the Year, after also receiving the Entrepreneur Award.

Tammy started the financial services firm in 1999, after witnessing the devastating impact that debt can have on people’s lives.

Since then, as a result of Tammy’s unwavering commitment to improving financial literacy in the wider community, MyBudget has become one of Australia’s leading financial services companies. Today, the business provides customised money strategies to 20,000 active clients.

Tammy says the values she shares with the 250 staff employed for the business are central to MyBudget’s success.

“By building the business around the values of caring, making a difference and promoting financial responsibility, I’ve grown an organisation of like-minded people united by MyBudget’s cause,” she said.

Tammy is disrupting the financial services sector, by focusing on making a difference to people’s lives rather than selling products. Her goal has always been first and foremost to eliminate financial stress in the community. MyBudget is a company solving real problems for real people.

Elly Griffin, Zoe Bettison MP, Tammy Barton and Professor Leah Bromfield
Elly Griffin, Zoe Bettison MP, Tammy Barton and Professor Leah Bromfield

Also recognised at the 2017 Telstra South Australian Business Women’s Award were:

  • For Purpose and Social Enterprise Award winner: Elaine Bensted, Chief Executive, Zoos South Australia
  • Public Sector and Academia Award winner: Professor Leah Bromfield, Co-Director, The Australian Centre for Child Protection, University of South Australia
  • Corporate and Private Award winner: Elly Griffin, Operations and Human Resources Manager, SILK Laser Clinics

State and Territory winners will be flown to Melbourne for the National Awards judging, culminating in a Gala Dinner on the night of Tuesday 21 November.

If you, or a brilliant business woman you know, deserve recognition, nominate today: