Today we announced the 2016 Telstra Ballet Dancer Award (TBDA) nominees.

Now in its 14th year, the Award has helped support the careers of some of The Australian Ballet’s brightest stars, with seven former winners being promoted to principal artist in the company following their award.

Our partnership with The Australian Ballet is about connecting audiences of all ages and backgrounds with the Ballet through experiences that are enabled by technology.

For the first time, this year we have collaborated with The Australian Ballet to create a video series allowing people to connect with the dancers offstage. The videos take a look behind the scenes of the Australian Ballet for each of the nominees, and can be accessed by audiences from any connected device, at any time.

The 2016 Telstra Ballet Dancer Award winner will take home a $20,000 cash prize, while the winner of the People’s Choice Award, decided by public vote, will receive $5,000.

The video series will help the public decide who should win the People’s Choice Award in 2016, so take a look and cast your vote to support your favourite dancer.

The 2016 Telstra Ballet Award Nominees are Brodie James (Perth, WA), Callum Linnane (Townsville, QLD/ Ballarat, VIC), Jarryd Madden (Sydney/ Wauchope, NSW), Jill Ogai (Sydney, NSW/ Adelaide, SA), Nicola Curry (born in Baltimore, USA, resides between Brisbane and Melbourne) and Jade Wood (Cairns, QLD).

By voting in the people’s choice award, not only will you be helping support your favourite dancer but you will also go in the draw to win a ballet experience for two people consisting of flights and accommodation at the Four Seasons in Sydney, attending the Opening Night of The Australian Ballet’s Coppélia at The Sydney Opera House and a 2 hour pamper package. Visit